WTC Final: India fails to break New Zealand code again in ICC tournaments

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES

MS Dhoni in the semifinals of the 2019 World Cup against New Zealand

India vs. New Zealand in international cricket tournaments (ICC) over the past few years have been like Roger Federer vs. Rafael Nadal on clay courts at the French Open, never finding a way to win. On Wednesday, the Kiwis inflicted the sixth consecutive defeat on India in the ICC tournaments, winning the final of the World Test Championship.

The last time India beat New Zealand was at the 2003 World Cup under Sourav Ganguly, when left-handed bowling Zaheer Khan took four sacks while India escaped the kiwi by 146 and won seven sacks at Centurion .

Since then, all of New Zealand has won victories over India in the T20 World Cup, over 50 World Cups, and World Test Championship matches.

Here’s a look at where India has lost to New Zealand in the last 13 years in ICC tournaments:

2007 World T20, League match, Johannesburg

The Kiwis scored 190 shots first with Brendan McCallum, who scored 45 (31 balls), and Craig Macmillan hit 44 (out of 23 balls). In response, India finished with 10 runs, short of the 180/9 target for 20 overs. Left-handed spinner Daniel Vetori raised four wickets for 20 tracks to present a game of the match.

T20 World Cup match 2016 Super-10, Nagpur

The Indians were bottling tightly to limit New Zealand to 126/7 in 20 shots on the pitch, helping the spinners. Corey Anderson, with 34 of 42 balls, and Luke Ronchi (21 of 11) were the only notable players for New Zealand. However, the spin trio of visitors Nathan McCullum, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi shared nine wickets to get out of India for 79. The Kiwis won with 47 runs.

2019 World Cup semifinals for 50 years

One of the most disappointing losses for India. After leading the league table with 15 points, Virat Kohlithe ice team was the favorite to win the draw, played for two days due to bad weather.

Thanks to the skipper Kane Williamson (67 of 95) and Ross Taylor (74 out of 90), the Kiwis made 239. However, India’s quilting fell apart when they hit on the second day (reserve day), losing the first three wickets for five runs. Although Ravindra Jadeja77 of 59 balls, India came out for 221 and finished 18 runs.

WTC series of two tests in New Zealand, 2020

India lost the first test in Wellington by 10 weeks. First beating, they folded for 165 in 68.1 overs as Tim Southy and Kyle Jamieson lifted four doors. The Kiwis made 348 with the help of 89 from Captain Kane Williamson. The 183-mile lead was too much for India, as they lost seven wickets in the second inning before clearing the lead.

India lost the second test in Christchurch with seven wickets. Although this time they scored better than the first inning (242) and led seven runs thanks to Mohamed Shamihas four wickets and Jasprit Bumrahwith three cartridges, they were crushed in the match. The quilting fell apart by 124 in the second inning against the pace of Tim Southy (3/36) and Trent Bult (4/28). The set 132 goal turned out to be a walk for the kiwis.

WTC Final, Southampton 2021

The most recent match, which ended on Wednesday, seemed to end in a draw. However, New Zealand’s four-time attack turned the tide in favor of their team, dismissing India for the miserable 170, after they resumed the game on the sixth – reserve day at 64/2. The small goal of 139 turned out to be a total walk, as both Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson shared an unbeaten partnership with 96 wins for the third gate to take their team home.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: