Sports

WI v. SA Nkruma Bonner received a blow to the head, excluded from the first test

Written by admin

Image source: TWITTER / WINDIESCRICKET

Nkruma Bonner

West Indian batsman Nkrumah Bonner suffered a concussion after a sharp bounce from a South African leg Anrich Nortje hit his helmet, leading to Keiran Powell as a field for a similar replacement on the first day of the first test

Bonner, who sharpened the first ball he faced North as he tried to hook but deflected the ball onto his helmet, continued to hit on Thursday, despite receiving a blow before being fired. Kagiso Rabada for 10.

The 32-year-old right-handed batsman did not appear on the pitch when the South Africans struck.

“Nkrumah Bonner is currently injured after receiving a slam blow to his helmet in the first inning – Kieran Powell replaces him in the #WIvSA field,” Windies cricket confirmed on Twitter.

Bonner, who has played four test matches and scored a century and two and a half in his career, will not play an additional role in the ongoing test, which is a big blow for the host country after being taken out for 97 in the first innings.

Former West India captain Richie Richardson is the referee for the current test match.

.


Source

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: