Tokyo hopes to finish for Shrikant, Saina after BWF says no more events in qualifying window

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES

Tokyo hopes to finish for Shrikant, Saina after BWF says no more events in qualifying window

Kidambi Shrikant and Saina Neval’s low hopes of qualifying for the Tokyo Games came to an end after the game’s governing body (BWF) announced on Friday that there would be no change in the current standings and no additional qualifying tournament. period

The former bronze medalist of the former world medalist from Srikanth and London at the Saina Games was almost dashed when the last of the Olympic qualifiers in Singapore was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The duo had hoped for a thin hope when the governing body said it would “issue an additional statement on the Tokyo Olympics later”.

“The World Badminton Federation (BWF) can confirm that no additional tournaments will be played in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics qualifying window,” the supreme body said in a statement on Friday.

“As such, until the qualifying period officially closes on June 15, 2021 under the Revised Tokyo Qualification System 2020, the current ranking list for the Tokyo race will not change.

Due to the health crisis earlier, the world organization revised the qualification period, extending it by nearly two months until June 15 after the postponement of three important events.

However, without a break from the pandemic, BWF was forced to cancel or postpone the last three qualifiers – India Open, Malaysia Open and Singapore Open, leaving players, including Srikanth and Saina, without a chance to win a qualification.

“The Olympic qualifying process is actually over, as there are no additional opportunities for players to earn points,” said BWF Secretary General Thomas Lund.

“However, we must receive confirmations from the National Olympic Committees and member associations, followed by all possible redeployments, and this will take several weeks.”

According to the qualification rules, the 16 most players – a maximum of two players per single for men and women from a country – as on June 15, will receive direct participation.

The BWF said that “invitations will be sent soon with final lists of participation and crops to be published at the end of this process.”

Indian shuttles that have already abbreviated for the Olympics include PV Sindhu, B Sai Praneeth and the men’s doubles pairs of Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: