The Indian side will compete in a pilot tournament for the AFC Women’s Club Championship

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY

Representative image

The Indian side will participate in the prestigious club championship for women at AFC 2021, which will be held later this year, the national federation announced on Tuesday.

The champions of the Indian Women’s League will represent the country in the pilot tournament with eight teams of the Asian Football Confederation, which will be played between October 30 and November 14 this year.

Group A (East) will consist of clubs from Chinese Taipei, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam, while Group B (West) will have teams from India, Iran, Jordan and Uzbekistan.

Describing the development as another first-of-its-kind cornerstone, the secretary general of the All-India Football Federation, Kushal Das, said the competition would provide a “huge boost” to women’s play in India.

“We already have two international events – the AFC Women’s Cup for women and the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, ranked in 2022. As a prelude to this, the Indian representation in the club championship will further redefine women’s football in India,” he said. .

The tournament, which is set to become the AFC Women’s Champions League in 2013, began in 2019 with four champion teams from Australia, China, Japan and South Korea. Score from South Korea won the title, while Chinese Jiangsu finished second.

The tournament was not held last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The AIFF said the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) will have a soft implementation of the women’s club licensing system to prepare them and member associations ahead of the planned 2023 AFC Women’s Champions League.

The AIFF will soon start holding seminars in the same way for clubs across the country.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: