Spain leads six Euro 2020 players at the Tokyo Olympics

Written by admin

Image source: AP

The Spaniard Po Torres

Taking advantage of the obligation of Spanish clubs to release players, Spain will take six members of its team for the European Championships in Tokyo.

Olympic coach Luis de la Fuente announced a list of 22 players on Tuesday, including Unai Simon, Eric Garcia, Pau Torres, Pedri Gonzalez, Mikel Ojarzabal and Danny Olmo. They are in the Euro 2020 team, which qualifies for the quarterfinals on Monday.

Simon, Garcia and Pedri were in the starting lineup as Spain beat Croatia 5-3 in overtime in Copenhagen. Torres and Olmo also started for Spain at Euro 2020.

“These players will arrive highly motivated, with more experience,” said De la Fuente. “They are young players of spectacular quality. We hope to arrive immediately after the final (Euro 2020), after winning the title. “

De la Fuente said some international clubs were refusing to release players, as was their right. However, local law forces Spanish clubs to do so.

“We are lucky that Spanish clubs have an obligation to release players,” he said.

The only players from non-Spanish clubs in the Olympic team are Olmo from Leipzig and Rafa Mir from Wolverhampton Wanderers. The three players over 24 in the Spanish team will be Danny Chebalos, Marco Asensio and Mikel Merino.

Chebalos was not called up to the senior team due to injury, while Asensio recently lost his place in the team coached by Luis Enrique.

The absence of veteran Sergio Ramos has put an end to speculation about whether he will be included in the Olympic list after being suspended from the Euro 2020 squad after a season plagued by injuries.

“I’m sure he understands the circumstances that led me to make that decision,” De la Fuente said. “I had to reward the players who helped us get to the Olympics.”

He said Spain and other associations had asked officials to allow national teams to take 22 players instead of the 18 currently the maximum allowed for the Olympic tournament.

Spain won the 1992 Men’s Football Olympics in Barcelona. He won a silver medal in 2000 in Sydney and in 1920 in Antwerp. Spain is due to launch its campaign for games in Tokyo against Egypt on July 22nd.

Spain: Goalkeepers: Alvaro Fernandez (Huesca), Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), Alex Dominguez (Las Palmas)

Defenders: Oscar Mingesa (Barcelona), Jesus Vallejo (Granada), Eric Garcia (Barcelona), Po Torres (Villarreal), Oscar Gill (Espanyol), Juan Miranda (Real Betis)

Midfielders: Marc Cucurela (Getafe), John Moncaiola (Osasuna), Martin Zubimendi (Real Sociedad), Dani Chebalos (Real Madrid), Mikel Merino (Real Sociedad), Carlos Soler (Valencia), Pedre Gonzalez

Forwards: Brian Gill (Sevilla), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Dani Olmo (Leipzig), Mikel Ojarzabal (Real Sociedad), Rafa Mir (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Javier Poado (Espanyol)



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: