Shikhar Davan will lead Team India in Sri Lanka; Sakarya, Padikal receive an initial call

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES

Shikhar Davan will lead the India team in Sri Lanka; Sakarya, Padikal receive an initial call

The Cricket Control Board in India announced the team for the upcoming limited tour in Sri Lanka in July. India is expected to play three ODIs and as many T20Is in the island nation between July 13-25.

Shikhar Davan has been appointed team captain, while experienced pace Buchneswar Kumar will be deputy captain on the tour.

The captain of the first team of India Virat Kohlias well as a deputy captain Rohit Sharma, will be two of the many players of the first selection who will not be part of the SL tour as they will remain in England to prepare for the five-match series.

Here is the Indian team:

Shikhar Davan (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandi,, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Goalkeeper), Sanju Samson (Goalkeeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Crowned Panda,, Kuldiip Yadav, Varun Chakravarti, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Deputy Captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

All matches of the tour will be played at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Batsmen Nitish Rana, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devdutt Padikkal, as well as left-handed chaser Chetan Sakariya, received their first calls for the tour, following impressive performances in local limited betting tournaments in India earlier this year and the Indian Premier League in 2021.

Meanwhile, Prithvi Shaw, Sanju Samson and Manish Pandei are returning to the Indian team.

Rahul Dravid is expected to coach the Indian team for the tour, according to numerous reports. However, the BCCI has yet to confirm his appointment.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: