Saurab Chaudhari wins bronze after slow start for India at ISSF World Cup

Written by admin

Image source: PTI

Saurab Chaudhari

Saurabh Chaudhary opened India’s account at the ISSF World Cup here with bronze in the men’s 10m air pistol race after the country’s shooters endured a modest opening day in which podium finals slipped away like Manu Baker and Elavenil Valarivan.

The 19-year-old Saurab scored 220 in the final after finishing 581. Countryman Abhishek Verma finished fifth in the same event with a score of 179.3, after also shooting 581 in qualifying.

Manu finished seventh in the women’s 10-meter air pistol race with a score of 137.3 in the final, while Elavenil, along with two others, failed to make it to the women’s 10-meter air rifle final. Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar finished seventh in the men’s 10m air rifle final.

The event is the last competitive outing of the Indian shooting team before the Olympics in Tokyo. The 20-year-old Aishwari, who finished 628 in the qualifying round, shot a total of 143.9 before being eliminated from the final.

Deepak Kumar (626) and Divyansh Singh Panwar (624.7) failed to make the final, finishing 14th and 25th respectively in the qualifying round.

In another disappointing show, the trio of Anjum Moudgil, Apurvi Chandela and Valarivan failed to enter the finals of the women’s 10-meter air rifle race.

Apurvi had the best result among the three women, finishing in 24th place with a score of 624.2. While Anjum managed to put 622.3 in 42nd place in qualifying, Elavenil (621.2) also awarded a penalty of two points to protest against a properly scored shot.

The 21-year-old Elavenil, a gold medalist in the Junior World Cup, initially scored a total of 623.2 points to finish in 35th place, but a two-point penalty meant she slipped to 55th.

According to the ISSF rules, if the Jury for Results, Time and Points (RTS) determines that the protesting shot was scored correctly, the shooter will be penalized with two points.

In addition to Manu, the women’s 10m air pistol final included Yashasvini Singh Desual, who finished eighth with 117.1. While Manu finished sixth in the final with a score of 577, Yashasuini was on a level with an effort of 578.

Rahi Sarnobat could not qualify for the final, finishing in 13th place with a score of 572. Antoaneta Kostadinova from Bulgaria won gold in the 10-meter air pistol for women with a score of 240.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: