Regional qualifiers for the T20 World Cup have been postponed

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES

Representative photo.

Qualifications for the 2020 FIFA World Cup in Africa and Asia have been postponed due to Covid-19, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced on Thursday.

The Asia A qualifier, which is two steps away from the 2022 FIFA World Cup to be played in Australia, was to be hosted between 3 and 9 April 2021, featuring Bahrain, Kuwait, the Maldives, Qatar and Saudi Arabia. It will now be played in Kuwait from October 23 to 29 this year.

“The decision was postponed due to the introduction of new restrictions by several participating countries to suspend sports activities in order to limit the spread of new variants of Covid-19, which does not allow teams to train enough. The other contributing factor was extensive quarantine requirements for visiting teams on their return to their respective countries, “the ICC said in a statement.

The sub-regional qualifiers for Africa A and B, which are three steps away from the World Cup, were to be held in South Africa in April 2021 and were redirected to 25-31 October this year. Qualification A includes Ghana, Lesotho, Malawi, Rwanda, Seychelles, Swaziland and Uganda, and Qualification B includes Botswana, Cameroon, Mozambique, Sierra Leone, Saint Helena and Tanzania. The ICC said the delays were confirmed as a result of the process undertaken for its “comprehensive Covid-19 contingency planning after consultation with members and relevant government and public health authorities”.

It is now confirmed that the T20 World Cup qualifier will take place between 24 and 27 November in Nigeria with the participation of Kenya, Nigeria and the best teams in the Africa A and B sub-regional qualifiers, respectively, to ensure sufficient time. for subregional qualifications. completed.

In addition, the ICC for men under 19 for the World Cup in Asia, Division 2 has been canceled because Thailand cannot host due to Covid-19 restrictions and there is no other suitable hosting option.

Bhutan, Hong Kong, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore and Thailand have been confirmed to participate in the Division 2 event. “Oman and Singapore have already been upgraded to the CWC Asia qualifier for men under 19, scheduled for September in the United Arab Emirates , as a result of both teams having the best records in the previous five editions of the CWC qualifiers for men under 19, ”said ICC.

Qualification for the Men’s Under-19 World Cricket Championship for Africa, Division 2, has been postponed to August 7-13 from June 2021 due to travel restrictions on Covid-19. Hosts Tanzania, Botswana, Kenya, Mozambique, Rwanda and Sierra Leone will compete for two places in the Africa Under-19 World Cup qualifiers. The qualifying dates for the Africa Under-19 World Cup have been confirmed from September 25 to October 1 and will host Nigeria with Namibia, Nigeria, Uganda, which are also vying for a spot in the West Indies in early 2022.

The qualification for the T20 Women’s World Cup, which is a qualifying tournament for the ICC World T20 World Cup 2023, has been changed from October to 3-11 September 2021 to ease regional congestion on the calendar, including hosts Botswana, Cameroon, Namibia, Nigeria, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: