Nominated for Hockey India Sreejesh, Deepika for Khel Ratna; Harmanpreet Singh for Arjuna

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES / PTI

Nominated for Hockey India Sreejesh, Deepika for Khel Ratna; Harmanpreet Singh for Arjuna

India’s veterans’ goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and former women’s team player Deepika have been nominated by Hockey India for this year’s prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

In addition to the duo, the vice-captain of the Indian team at the Tokyo Olympics Harmanpreet Singh and members of the women’s team Vandana Katariya and Navjot Kaur were nominated for the Arjuna Awards.

The National Federation also nominated RP Singh and Ch Sanggai Ibemhal for the Dhyan Chand Award for overall achievement, while coaches BJ Kariappa and CR Kumar were recommended for the Dronacharya Award.

According to a statement issued by HI, the review period for the Rajiv Gandhi Hel Ratna Award is between 1 January 2017 and 31 December 2020.

During this time, the 35-year-old Sreeshes, who will play in his third Olympics and possibly his last, played a key role in winning a silver medal for India at the 2018 Hockey Champions Trophy in Breda, a bronze medal from the 2018 Asian Games. and gold at the FIH Men’s Series Finals in Bhubaneswar 2019.

Sreejesh received the Arjuna Award in 2015 and the prestigious Padma Shri Award in 2017.

Deepika, on the other hand, was a vital part of the Indian women’s hockey team, which won the silver medal at the 2018 Asian Games and the 2018 Asian Champions Trophy.

Dragflick sensation Harmanpreet has over 100 international hats, while Vandana has over 200 international hats. Navjot boasts over 150 international appearances.

Speaking about the recommendations for the National Sports Awards, HI President Ganendro Ningombam said: “It was a very proud moment for all of us when Rani won the Rajiv Gandhi Hel Ratna Award last year and we are very proud to recommend two of the best hockey players the country has seen. – PR Sreejesh and Deepika – for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award this year.

“We are also happy to nominate Harmanpreet Singh, Vandana Katariya and Navjot Kaur for the Arjuna Awards. They have made some outstanding performances for the Indian team over the last few years.”

The National Sports Awards are presented to the country’s athletes by the President of India on the occasion of the National Sports Day on August 29 each year to celebrate the birthday of hockey legend Major Diane Chand.

All prizes carry a trophy along with a quote and cash prizes.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: