Messi, Di Maria and Aguero in the Copa America team in Argentina

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES

Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero

Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero and Angel Di Maria are the headliners of the Argentine team, which will head to Brazil for the Copa America, looking for the first big title of their national team since 1993. The list was published on Thursday by the governing body of South American football. CONMEBOL.

Defender Juan Voight and striker Lucas Ocampos are the most notable absences from the 28-player squad, although they play regularly since Lionel Scaloni became head coach in 2018.

Voight was involved late when Argentina conceded an equalizer at the last minute for Colombia in a World Cup qualifier earlier this week.

The Villarreal defender, winner of the latest Europa League, has lost possession on the edge of the penalty area. Colombia then crossed and then found the back of the net with Miguel Borja’s head.

Ocampos from Sevilla had a poor performance in the 1-1 draw against Chile last week, also in the World Cup qualifiers.

Scaloni was joined by Cristiano Romero and Nauel Molina Lucero, who were brought to Argentina’s senior team for the first time during the last qualifying rounds of the World Cup.

Argentina will open its Group A campaign against Chile on Monday in Rio de Janeiro. Uruguay, Bolivia and Paraguay are also in Group A.

Team of Argentina:

Goalkeepers: Franco Armani (River Plate), Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa), Agustin Marcesin (Porto) and Juan Musso (Udinese)

Defenders: Gonzalo Montiel (river), Nicolas Otamendi (Benfica), Herman Petzela, Lucas Martinez Quarta (Fiorentina), Nicolas Taliafico, Lisandro Martinez (Ajax), Marcos Acuna (Sevilla), Christian Romero (Atalanta), Nahuel Udunese.

Midfielders: Leandro Paredes, Angel Di Maria (Paris Saint-Germain), Guido Rodriguez (Betis), Giovanni Lo Celso (Tottenham), Ezekiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen), Nicolas Gonzalez (Stuttgart), Rodrigo De Paul (Udinese), Alejandro Korea (Atletico Madrid), Nicolas Dominguez (Bologna)

Attackers: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan), Joaquin Correa (Lazio), Lucas Alario (Bayer Leverkusen) and Sergio Aguero (Barcelona).



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: