Indo-Australian women’s series must have an eternal trophy like “Border-Gavaskar”: former toy Mel Jones

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES

Indian women’s cricket team

The series between Indian and Australian women should have an eternal trophy, named after legends of the women’s game, such as the Border-Gavaskar trophy for men’s teams, suggested the former Australian player Mel Jones.

The comments from Jones, who is also a member of the ICC women’s committee, came ahead of the Indian women’s team’s planned tour of Australia in September-October, which will include one test (day-night match), three ODIs and the same T20I.

“It’s great to have something like Border-Gavaskar, but it’s the men’s lens about what has happened in the past. So we have to do it our way for the women’s game and maybe we can come up with something a little more different “quoted by

Both men’s and women’s games have these magnificent storylines behind their Ashes trophies, and perhaps we can create just as special one that is talked about after 100 years with the same kind of reverence as the ashes. “

Jones, 48, who played five tests and 61 ODIs between 1998 and 2003, said it would be great to tell the story of the women’s game between the two countries and those involved through such a trophy.

She said the names (s) that would adorn any such trophy could best be resolved through public participation through social media. She took the names of the unwavering Sanath Ragaswamy and Margaret Jennings from a historical context.

“Talking about Sanat Ragaswami and Marg Jennings and all those players from the first test in Perth, bringing them back to the forefront would be great,” she said.

The first international women’s championship between India and Australia was a one-off WACA test in January 1977 (which Australia won with 147 tracks) and their opening match with limited bets came at a match for the Women’s World Cup in Patna in 1978 (Australia won of 71 tracks).

Australia were captains in both historic matches by opening goalkeeper Jennings, while the captains of India were Shanta in their first test and Diana Edulji at the 1978 World Cup (which Australia eventually won).

Jones said approving an appropriate trophy design could be the first step to such a perpetual trophy and then use the upcoming tour of India in Australia, as well as any mutual visits by Meg Lanning’s team to the subcontinent as vehicles to enhance the trophy. public awareness and evaluation of feedback.

Cricket Australia interim CEO Nick Hockley said earlier this week that the creation of a new trophy was “something we should probably think about” and added that the concept of multi-format is an integral part of the ongoing evolution of the women’s international game.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: