ICC moves two World Cup qualifiers from Scotland to Spain

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY

ICC logo

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday moved the qualifications for the Women’s World Cup for Europe under 20 and the European Qualifiers to U19 for men from Scotland to Spain due to COVID-19 restrictions in the original place.

The first event to be moved from Scotland to Spain is the 2023 World Cup qualifiers in South Africa.

The qualifier, which is two steps away from the World Cup, with unchanged dates from August 26 to 30, will see France, Germany, Ireland, the Netherlands, Scotland and Turkey, which will compete in La Manga. France and

Turkey will participate for the first time in an ICC event for women.

Qualification for the European Men’s World Championships from 1922 to 19 also moved from Scotland to Spain and will now take place between 19 and 25 September in La Manga.

Ireland, Jersey, the Netherlands and Scotland will compete for one place at the World Cup.

“The decision to move the events to Spain was taken after a period of consultation with the participating countries and the respective governments, where it was determined that this was the best chance for the events to take place due to the restrictions of COVID-19 in Scotland,” the statement said. of the ICC.

In Africa, the qualification for the Men’s Under-19 World Cup, which includes Botswana, Kenya, Mozambique, Rwanda, Sierra Leone and Tanzania, has been revoked as a result of COVID-19 restrictions.

Without the possibility of rescheduling the event, Tanzania and Rwanda have now been promoted to Africa based on their entries in the previous five editions of the qualifiers.

They will join Namibia, Nigeria and Uganda in a race for one of the other five main venues for the event.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: