ENG v. NZ James Anderson presented a special shirt to become the most limited cricket in England

Written by admin

Image source: TWITTER

James Anderson became the most limited cricket in England

English veteran James Anderson on Thursday added another feather to his already famous hat as it became the most limited cricket in the country.

The 38-year-old was tied with former skipper Alastair Cook in 161 caps before the start of the second and decisive test against New Zealand in Edgebaston. Anderson currently has 616 trial wickets in his name – the most of any bowling alley in England. The sum is also more than any other paceman in the history of the game.

The Lancashire-born pacer, which made its international debut 18 years ago, also has a chance to surpass Indian leg spin legend Anil Campbell on the list of most test straps.

Muttiah Muralitharan (800) and Shane Warne (708) are the first two wicket players in the history of the tests. Campbell is third on the list with 619 scalps, just three more than Anderson.

Anderson was also greeted before the start of the test, as the crowd in Edgebaston rose to their feet to applaud England’s most limited player. He was also given a special T-shirt with the inscription “162” on the back.

“18 years. 616 wickets. 162 tests. Your skill, desire and self-sacrifice continue to amaze us. Our most limited cricket in criticism so far. Congratulations,” English cricket wrote on Twitter.

The ICC also congratulated Anderson on accomplishing the feat. “162 did not come out! Congratulations to @ jimmy9, who became the most limited test player in England”

Meanwhile, England won the throw and chose to fight first against New Zealand. Olli Stone replaced Olli Robinson in England XI, while New Zealand made many changes in its starting lineup. Will Young, Tom Blundell, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Trent Bultand Matt Henry were included in New Zealand’s Playing XI.

New Zealand (Game XI): Tom Latham (c), Devon Conway, Will Young, Ross Taylor,, Henry Nichols, Tom Blundel (f), Daryl Mitchell, Neil Wagner, Matt Henry, Ayaz Patel, Trent Bult

England (Game XI): Rory Burns, Dominic Sibley, Zack Crowley, Joe Koren(c), Olly Pope, Daniel Lawrence, James Bracey (w), Olly Stone, Mark Wood, Stuart Broad, James Anderson



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: