Cristiano Ronaldo leads a talented team of Portugal for Euro 2020

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES

Cristiano Ronaldo leads a talented team of Portugal for Euro 2020

Cristiano Ronaldo will lead a talented team of Portugal, which will try to defend its title in the European Championship.

Coach Fernando Santos on Thursday announced his list of 26 players for next month’s tournament, when Ronaldo will be backed by people like Bruno Fernandez, Bernardo Silva, Diogo Jota and Joao Felix.

Euro 2020 also included Sporting Lisbon’s 22-year-old striker Pedro Gonçalves, who has never played for the national team. Gonsalves was key this season, helping Sporting win their first Portuguese title since 2002.

Back in the lineup were Nuno Mendes and Joao Palhinia, who made their national team debut in March.

The 36-year-old Ronaldo will play in his fifth consecutive European Championship. He has six goals since tying the all-time record for the men’s national team. The record of 109 goals is held by the former striker of Iran Ali Daei, the only other male player who surpasses the cornerstone of 100 goals.

Portugal will play in a difficult Group F, which also includes Germany, France and Hungary. Both Germany and Hungary will have home matches against Portugal in the group stage.

“I have a lot of confidence in my players and I am convinced that Portugal is a candidate for the title,” Santos said.

Portugal’s preparations will begin on May 27.



Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopez (Lyon), Rui Patricio (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Rui Silva (Granada).

Defenders: Joao Cancello (Manchester City), Nelson Semedo (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Jose Fonte (Lille), Pepe (Porto), Ruben Diaz (Manchester City), Nuno Mendes (Sporting Lisbon), Rafael Guerrero (Borussia).

Midfielders: Danilo Pereira (Paris Saint-Germain), Joao Palhinya (Sporting Lisbon), Ruben Neves (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Bruno Fernandez (Manchester United), Joao Moutinho (Wolverhampton), Wolverhampton Wanderers William Carvalho (Real Betis).

Forwards: Pedro Gonzalves (Sporting Lisbon), Andre Silva (Eintracht Frankfurt), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Diogo Jota (Liverpool), Gonzalo Guedes (Valencia), Raxallo Maoletti, Joatli Joao (Benfica).



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: