Australia confirms T20I tour in Bangladesh

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES

Australia Moises Henriques

Australia will travel to Bangladesh for five T20I series matches from August 3 to 9, it was confirmed. All matches will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur.

The tour will be Australia’s first visit to Bangladesh since September 2017, when they visited the country for two tests in Dhaka and Chattogram.

Earlier, Australia canceled its tour in 2015 and withdrew from the World Youth Championship until 2016 for security reasons.

Both Australia and Bangladesh are expected to arrive in Dhaka after completing their tours in the West Indies and Zimbabwe on July 29, respectively.

Australia will come on a charter flight from Barbados to Dhaka. Upon arrival, both teams will go through a three-day quarantine in the hotel room, which will be strictly forbidden to the public.

After the end of the short quarantine period, both teams will start training on August 1 at the stadium before the series.

Australia will not have a 20-member change at the moment in the Caribbean. This means that first-choice players David Warner, Glenn Maxwell,, Pat Cummins,, Steve Smith,, Marcus Stoinis and Joy Richardson will continue to miss.

Bangladesh and Australia have met four times in T20Is. All four matches came in the T20 World Cup, with Australia coming out the winner anyway.

Team Australia: Aaron Finch (Captain), Ashton Hagar, Wes Hagar, Jason Berendorf,, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moses Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philip, Mitchell Stark, Mitchell Supson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Ty, Matthew Wade (deputy captain) and Adam Zampa.

Traveling reserves: Nathan Ells and Tanvir Sanga.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: