After recovering from COVID, Sunil Chettri to lead Bengaluru FC in the AFC Cup match on April 14

Written by admin

Image source: ISL

After recovering from COVID, Sunil Chettri to lead Bengaluru FC in the AFC Cup match on April 14

Talismanic India captain Sunil Chhetri is back in the game after recovering from COVID-19, and will lead Bengaluru FC in his AFC Cup preliminaries match on April 14.

The Bengaluru-based country on Thursday selected a 29-member team for the match against Nepalese Tribhuvan Army FC, a day after three cases of COVID-19 were discovered among players and staff.

Five players from the reserve team were named in the team as head coach Marco Petzajouli prepares for his first game in charge of the Blues.

“Skipper Sunil Chetri will lead the team in the seventh season of continental football, with the 36-year-old joining the country in Goa, where preparations for the campaign are going well,” the club said in a statement.

On March 11, Chetri tested positive for coronavirus and announced that he had recovered from the infection on March 28.

He missed the two international friendly matches of India against Oman and the UAE in Dubai due to the COVID-19 infection. India had tied Oman 1-1 as they suffered an embarrassing 0-6 blow to the UAE.

Gabonese defender Yrondu Mousavu-King was the newest addition to the Blues’ foreign contingent when he joined Juanan Gonzalez, Clayton Silva and Eric Partalu in the qualifying campaign team.

Graduates from the club’s reserve side are goalkeeper Sharon Padatil, midfielders Damayfang Lingdoh and Mohammad Inayat, as well as forwards Akashdip Singh and Sivasakti Narayanan.

The match at GMC Stadium here will be played behind closed doors due to the pandemic.

On Wednesday, the club announced that three people had tested positive for the virus during the camp, which began on April 5th.

The team:

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Lalthuammawia Ralte, Lara Sharma, Sharon Padattil.

Defenders: Rahul Bheke, Pratik Chaudhari, Juan Gonzalez, Vungngayam Muirang, Ajit Kumar, Ashike Kurunyan, Joe Zoerliana, Parag Srivas, Yrondu Musavu-King, Biswa Darji.

Midfielders: Eric Partalu, Suresh Wangjam, Harmanjot Cabra, Namgyal Butia, Emanuel Lalchanchuha, Damayfang Lingdoh, Mohamed Inayat.

Forwards: Sunil Chetri, Edmund Lalrindika, Udanta Singh, Clayton Silva, Leon Augustine, Naorem Roshan Singh, Sivasakti Narayanan, Akashdip Singh.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: