AFC announces withdrawal of Asian Women’s Cup qualifiers

Written by admin

Image source: GETTY IMAGES

AFC announces the withdrawal of the Asian Women’s Cup qualifiers

The Asian Football Confederation held a tie on Thursday, placing 28 countries in eight groups for the AFC Women’s Cup for Asia, to be held in India next year.

According to a statement issued by the AFC, these 28 teams are divided into eight groups with groups A to D, consisting of four teams, and groups E to H, which make up three teams.

The winners of each group will secure a qualification for the AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2022. These qualifiers will be played between September 13 and 25 this year.

The eight teams from the qualifying round will join the four that have already qualified for the tournament.

The already qualified teams defend the champions Japan, the runners-up 2018, Australia, the third-placed China 2018 and the hosts India.

The 2022 edition of the AFC Asian Women’s Cup is the first time the tournament will be contested by an expanded set of 12 teams and will serve as the final stage of the Asian qualification for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

India will host the continental tournament between January 20 and February 6 next year.

The hosts for the qualifiers are Chinese Taipei (Group A), Tajikistan (Group B), Indonesia (Group C), Myanmar (Group D), Uzbekistan (Group E), Nepal (Group E) and Bangladesh (Group G).

The AFC said the hosts of the Group H matches would be announced later.

AFC Asian Cup for Women India 2022 Qualifications:

Group A: Chinese Taipei (N), Bahrain, Turkmenistan, Laos.

Group B: Vietnam, Tajikistan (H), Maldives, Afghanistan.
Group C: DPR Korea, Singapore, Iraq, Indonesia (H).
Group D: Myanmar (H), United Arab Emirates, Guam, Lebanon.
Group E: Republic of Korea, Uzbekistan (H), Mongolia.
Group F: Philippines, Hong Kong, Nepal (H).
Group G: Jordan, Islamic Republic of Iran, Bangladesh (H).
Group H: Thailand, Palestine, Malaysia.



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: